Nether Alderley Mill
Nether Alderley Mill, owned by the National Trust, stands in the charming Cheshire village of Nether Alderley and dates from the fifteenth century.
The red sandstone building with its stone tiled roof is situated on the A34 one and a half miles from Alderley Edge village. It is one of only surviving virtually complete cornmills in Cheshire. The earliest reference to the mill on the site is in 1290, but this was replaced by the present mill in the sixteenth century. None of this mill's original machinery has survived. The present mill was the manorial mill of the Stanley family. The mill was acquired by the National Trust in 1950. Its most striking feature is the very long sloping stone roof.
The mill lay derelict for many years until it was restored by the Trust. The two wheels are driven by water flowing from two sixteenth century reservoirs. The original Elizabethan woodwork survives intact and the mill's oak framework, low beams and stone roof, create an impression of rustic charm. Standing beside a picturesque pool, powered by its Victorian waterwheel, it still grinds flour for demonstration to visitors.