The City of

Historic Buildings

Visitor Attractions
Villages and

Prehistoric Sites

Map & satellite


Anchorite's Cell
Bear and Billet
Bishop Lloyd's

Bonewaldesthorne's Tower
Chester Castle
Chester Cathedral
Chester Zoo
City Walls
Cowper House
Dewa Roman

Falcon Inn
Grosvenor Museum
Grosvenor Park
History of Chester
King Charles' Tower
Leche House
Minerva's Shrine
Old Dee Bridge
Pemberton's Parlour
Roman Amphitheatre
Roman Chester
Roman Gardens
Stanley Palace
St. John's Church
Ruins of St. John's
The Rows
Three Old Arches
Tudor House
Water Tower

Leche House

Leche House, ChesterTimber framed Leche House, considered to be the best preserved medieval town house in Chester, is located at 17 Watergate Street. The building incorporates a section of the famous Chester Rows.

The house was built in the seventeenth century for Alderman John Leche of Mollington, who descended from John Leche, surgeon to King Edward III. It was built upon an a far older undercroft which dates from the late fourteenth century, which was extended in the later part of the following century. Minor alterations were made in the eighteenth century.

The hall boasts a large fireplace with an overmantle dating from the early seventeenth century. It has three panels divided by four Ionic pilasters, above which are the arms of Sir John Leche and the motto 'Alla Corona Fidissimo'

Scratched into the first floor front window of Leche house, with a diamond ring, are the words 'Charming Miss Oldfield 1736', reputed to have been etched by the eighteenth century lexicographer Dr Samuel Johnson.

In the eighteenth Century Leche House came to be used as a public house known as The Hand and Snake. The building is now used by the sofa workshop.

Back to the Chester Rows Menu

Back to the Chester Menu